Janesville Public Library

Personal tools

You are here: Home / Do Research / Subject Guides / Genealogy

Genealogy

The study of family ancestries and histories
National Archives: Genealogists/Family Historians
A great starting place for genealogical research, how-to tips for beginners and experts, links to primary sources world-wide, and databases of family trees.
National Archives: State Archives
Genealogists may need to get information from state archives and historical societies. Here is contact information as of January, 2006
Cyndi’s List
A categorized and cross-referenced index to genealogical resources on the Internet, 261,000+ links for family history! (as of 9/1/06)
Repository of Primary Sources
A listing of over 5000 websites describing holdings of manuscripts, archives, rare books, historical photographs, and other primary sources for the research scholar.
Iowa Genealogical Society
IGS is a non-profit organization whose mission is to create and foster an interest in genealogy and to aid others in researching their family history. IGS was founded in 1965 by a small group of dedicated genealogists who met in members' houses and carried the original collection in an orange crate. Today our 3,000+ members are worldwide and the book collection alone spans the length of over five football fields.
State Historical Society of Iowa
A main repository of Iowa historical and genealogical information.
Society of American Archivists
Organizations, associations and groups related to or of interest to the archival profession.
Catalog

card catalog

Audio and Ebooks

Bridges

Take reading to the next level with audio & ebooks from the Janesville Library!

Neibors Audio & Ebooks

Story Hour

Help your preschooler develop early literacy skills and a love of books by attending Story Hour.  All 3, 4, & 5 year olds are welcome to join us for stories, games, crafts, and friends! Wednesdays at 10:00 a.m. September thru May.  2016 Story Hour will begin on September 7th.

Tina Says...

Tina's reviews

Read Tina's book reviews on her Tina Says... blog

LearningExpress

Call, visit or email the library for user name instructions before clicking on the link below.

LE 3.0 Logo